Skip to main content

Model & API Radar

Model catalogs, prices, free-API terms and data policies were rechecked on 2026-10-29. I would still recheck both the public docs and account limits before integrating.

When choosing a hosted model, pick the tier first and the vendor second. I read the catalogs of five model vendors (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI, DeepSeek), and each line now sorts into three tiers: flagships handle the hard cases, mid-tier models carry routine volume, and small models run repetitive work cheaply. Image, video, and realtime voice are also moving toward dedicated endpoints.

The tiers themselves are clear; the line between them got harder to draw in late September. OpenAI says GPT-6.1 Sol comes close to its flagship Astra while listing at a fifth of Astra's price: 2 USD in and 10 USD out per million tokens, against Astra's 10 and 50. Anthropic's Opus 5.5 lists for less than Opus 5 did, and Sonnet 5.5 keeps Sonnet 5's price. Taking the vendors' claims at face value, a mid-tier price now buys close to flagship work, so the tier decision depends less on list price than on latency, effort settings, and how often a task still fails.

So I no longer start with “which company is best?” I start with three questions: does this job deserve a flagship, can a mid-tier model handle it, and is the extra control of open weights worth operating the stack myself?

Hosted APIs: choose the tier before the vendor​

VendorCurrent lineHow I read it
OpenAIGPT-6 Astra / GPT-6.1 Sol / GPT-6.1 Terra / GPT-6 LunaThe catalog's flagship lineup now lists four models, alongside specialized ones. Astra remains the flagship; GPT-6.1 Sol, released at DevDay on September 29, is described as “near-Astra performance for complex work at a lower cost”; GPT-6.1 Terra is “a fast, efficient model for visual reasoning, precise computer use, and clear, natural writing”; Luna covers focused, high-volume work. All four list 1.05M context and 128K output, but capacity alone says little about reliability on long documents. The GPT-5.6 Sol / Terra / Luna line no longer appears among current models.
AnthropicClaude Fable 5.1 / Opus 5.5 / Sonnet 5.5 / Haiku 5.5Opus 5.5 (September 22) and Sonnet 5.5 (September 28) succeed Opus 5 and Sonnet 5, which are now legacy. Anthropic suggests starting most workloads on Opus 5.5 and moving to Fable 5.1 when Opus 5.5 at higher effort still falls short. Haiku 5.5, released October 7, succeeds Haiku 4.5, from USD 0.10 input and 0.50 output per million tokens; Haiku 4.5 is now legacy.
GoogleGemini 4 Argon / Gemini 3.8 Flash (stable) / Gemini 3.1 Pro (preview), plus Live, TTS, image, and video modelsThe split by modality is especially clear. For realtime speech or native media, I would test the dedicated endpoint instead of making a text flagship do everything. Gemini 4 Argon, announced September 30, first went only to cyber defenders in the Fairwind Program and trusted testers; since October 13 it is generally available in the Gemini API as gemini-4-argon, though not on the Free tier. On October 8, gemini-3.7-flash and gemini-3.5-flash were deprecated; requests to them are routed automatically to 3.8 Flash and 3.6 Flash. Since September 18, Gemini 2.5 models remain available only to users who had already been using them.
xAIGrok 4.7 / Grok 4.6, plus Imagine and Voice APIsGrok 4.7, released in September, is positioned for coding, agentic tasks, and knowledge work, with a 500K context window; 4.6 remains available. Current events still require search tools; they are not baked into the model.
DeepSeekV4.1 Flash (1017) / V4 Pro (0813)deepseek-flash serves the snapshot DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017, including vision; deepseek-v4-pro serves V4 Pro-0813 without vision. Both support thinking/non-thinking modes, Responses API, and OpenAI-/Anthropic-format access.

The legacy deepseek-v4-flash and deepseek-v4-flash-vision-exp IDs remain accepted but are now served by V4.1-Flash-1017 at Flash prices; they no longer select the retired models. DeepSeek's server-side Search and Fetch tools cost 0.75 USD per 1,000 successful requests each. Calls made through DeepSeek Harness, Claude Code or Codex are free for now; per-request billing for them starts at 00:00 Beijing time on November 1, 2026.

In practice I would start in the middle tier. GPT-6.1 Sol, Sonnet 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7, and DeepSeek V4.1 Flash / V4 Pro can all enter the first test; GPT-6.1 Terra, at half Sol's price, joins that round when the work is screenshots, computer use, or writing. I would test Astra, Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5, or Gemini 4 Argon only after repeated task failures justify the cost. Putting Opus 5.5 there departs from Anthropic's advice: Anthropic tells people who are unsure to start most workloads on Opus 5.5, while I sort by price. Opus 5.5 lists at 4 / 20 USD per million tokens, twice Sonnet 5.5's 2 / 10, so the first round runs on Sonnet 5.5 and only the tasks it fails go to Opus 5.5. In the other direction, extraction, classification, and format conversion that already work reliably should keep moving toward Luna or another cheaper tier; on Anthropic’s side, that tier is Haiku 5.5. When the output is only a choice among a few options, a decision model may be cheaper still: OpenAI's Decisions API runs on gpt-6-luna at 0.10 USD per million uncached input tokens, and Jev lists 0.042 USD; neither charges for output.

That is cheaper than throwing a flagship at every problem and less frustrating than optimizing for the lowest token price from day one.

Free APIs: keep a shortlist, not a permanent leaderboard​

For a personal prototype, I now keep three main routes: Gemini for long context and multimodal work, Groq for low latency, and OpenRouter for trying several free models behind one interface. All can start at zero payment, but they differ sharply in units, reset windows, and data terms.

ServiceCurrent zero-payment entryHow I would use itBoundary to check first
Gemini Developer APIA Free tier for models such as Gemini 3.8 Flash; AI Studio is free in supported regions; Gemini 3.1 Pro has no free API tierLong documents, multimodal work, and research prototypesQuotas vary by model and account. Unpaid content may be used to improve Google products and read by human reviewers (see data terms below), so sensitive material stays out
GroqFree Plan with organization- and model-level RPM, RPD, TPM, and TPD limitsLow-latency chat, voice, and tool workersThe public page is a summary; the account Limits page is the exact current authority
OpenRouter :freeMulti-provider free models behind one compatible APIFast model trials and simple fallbackFree variants allow 20 requests per minute and 50 per day, or 1,000 per day once at least 10 credits have been purchased; a negative balance or upstream congestion can also block calls
MistralFree mode enables API access without a credit cardMistral model prototypesThe public promise is limited usage and rate limits, not a stable numeric allowance
Cloudflare Workers AI10,000 Neurons free per day, resetting at 00:00 UTCEdge tasks already living on CloudflareNeurons are not tokens. Eight models need the Workers Paid plan or prepaid credits: Kimi K2.6 and K2.7-code, GLM-5.2, GLM-5.3 and GLM-5.3-flash, and the DeepSeek V4 Flash, V4.1 Flash and V4 Pro builds
Zhipu GLM-4.7-FlashStill documented under the free-model path with an OpenAI-style chat-completions endpointA Chinese and agentic-coding alternativeThe page gives 200K context and 128K maximum output, but no longer states free use or any quota; confirm the price in the console before relying on it

The most useful update is not another provider joining the list, but three leaving it. Cerebras now offers a 5 USD, 30-day Free Trial after a verified payment method, not an automatically renewing free tier. GitHub Models was fully retired on 2026-07-30. Hugging Face Inference Providers no longer gives Free accounts monthly credits: they must buy credits, while PRO accounts get 2 USD a month to spend across Hugging Face compute.

I therefore would not build around one free endpoint. A personal project can start with OpenRouter for interface consistency, then keep direct Gemini and Groq integrations for clearly assigned workloads. Cloudflare or GLM only joins when its ecosystem or language advantage matters. Every route still needs 429 handling, Retry-After, a daily budget, and failover; none should receive private code or customer data by default.

This section is about API inference allowance, not usage bundled into terminal agents. That separate accounting problem lives in Free Allowances for AI Coding CLIs.

Data terms: who keeps your prompts​

What matters is the default, because that is what applies when nobody changes a setting. Each provider documents it in a different place:

ProviderTrains on API prompts by default?What is kept by default
OpenAI APINo: API data is not used to train or improve models unless you opt inAbuse-monitoring logs for up to 30 days; Responses API application state for 30 days when store is on, which is the default
Anthropic APINo: the Commercial Terms say Anthropic may not train models on customer contentInputs and outputs are deleted from the backend within 30 days; Usage Policy violations are kept up to 2 years
Gemini API, Free tierYes: under the terms, unpaid content may be used to improve Google products and read by human reviewersUsers in the EEA, Switzerland and the UK get the paid-service data terms even on unpaid quota
Gemini API, paid tierNoPrompts and responses are logged for a limited period for abuse detection. Since October 26, new billing-enabled projects also log Generate Content requests by default; logs are kept up to 55 days (7, 14 or 28 can be chosen), are not used for training unless you share a dataset, and can be turned off in AI Studio
xAINo, not without explicit permission (security FAQ)Requests and responses stored for 30 days for abuse auditing
GroqNot stated on its data pageNot retained by default; troubleshooting and abuse logs for up to 30 days
MistralThe API page does not state the default; an opt-out exists: turn off “Anonymous improvement data” in the Admin Privacy menuNot stated there
OpenRouterDepends on the upstream provider; an account setting stops routing to providers that train, with separate settings for paid and free modelsSet by each provider

DeepSeek's pricing page, the one cited here, does not cover data use; read its own terms before sending private code.

Local inference is a separate decision​

When data locality or stable volume justifies running a service, move to the local AI stack. Hardware fit, coding candidates, runtimes, and evaluation each have a separate owner there; this hosted radar does not duplicate their snapshots.

Prices deserve one glance, not a strategy​

These are catalog rates checked on 2026-10-29, in USD per million input/output tokens for standard text usage, not total task costs or account entitlements. Caching, batch jobs, reasoning, long context, and contracts can change the actual bill substantially.

VendorCurrent tiers (input / output)
OpenAIAstra 10 / 50; GPT-6.1 Sol 2 / 10; GPT-6.1 Terra 1 / 5; Luna 0.10 / 0.50
AnthropicFable 5.1: 10 / 50; Opus 5.5: 4 / 20; Sonnet 5.5: 2 / 10; Haiku 5.5: from 0.10 / 0.50
GoogleGemini 3.8 Flash: 0.75 / 3.75 through December 31, 2026, then 1.50 / 7.50 from January 1, 2027; Gemini 4 Argon: 2 / 10 through November 30, then 4 / 20 from December 1
xAIGrok 4.7 and 4.6: 2 / 6 below 200K prompt tokens; 4 / 12 at or above 200K
DeepSeekdeepseek-flash: 0.15 / 0.60 off-peak, 0.30 / 1.20 peak; deepseek-v4-pro: 0.66 / 1.98 off-peak, 1.32 / 3.96 peak (cache-miss input)

I would not switch models from this table alone. A call that costs half as much can still be more expensive if it needs retries, produces repairs, or keeps failing at tool use. The useful number is the cost of finishing one real task, not the sticker price of one token.

What one task costs: caching and batch​

An agent loop resends the same prefix on every turn: instructions, tool definitions, the files it has already read. Once that prefix is cached, providers bill it at a fraction of the input price, and work that can wait for a batch job costs less again. For an agent, these two discounts often move the bill more than a change of tier.

ProviderCached input, as a share of the base input priceBatch and off-peak
OpenAIAstra 1 of 10 (10%); Sol 0.10 of 2 and Terra 0.05 of 1 (5%); Luna 0.01 of 0.10 (10%)Batch and Flex at half the standard price
AnthropicCache reads cost 5% on Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5, 2.5% on Fable 5.1, 10% elsewhere; writing the cache costs 1.25× base input for 5 minutes or 2× for 1 hourBatch 50% off input and output; it stacks with caching
GoogleArgon 0.10 of 2 (5%, implicit caching only); 3.8 Flash 0.075 of 0.75 (10%), plus 0.50 per million tokens per hour of storageBatch at half price, with no free tier
xAI0.50 of 2 (25%)Batch 20% off
DeepSeekdeepseek-flash cache hit 0.003 against 0.15 off-peak (2%)Off-peak costs half of peak; peak is 01:00–04:00 and 06:00–10:00 UTC, Monday to Friday, except Chinese public holidays

A worked example on Opus 5.5, ignoring output: a 20-turn session resends the same 50,000-token prefix each turn. Uncached, that is 1,000,000 input tokens at 4 USD per million, so 4.00 USD. With a 5-minute cache, the first turn writes 50,000 tokens at 5 USD per million (0.25 USD) and the other 19 turns read 950,000 tokens at 0.20 USD per million (0.19 USD): 0.44 USD in total. Moving the uncached session down to Sonnet 5.5 only halves it, to 2.00 USD. A cache hit needs the same prefix, so the stable part of the prompt goes first and the changing part last.

The vendor material is enough to shrink the shortlist, but it is not a shared benchmark. I am not going to crown an overall winner from product pages. The useful next step is to replay the same work on my own repositories and documents, with failure criteria that matter to me. Only then is a default model actually personal.

Explore connectionsOpen network